30 Day Challenge · Daily Life

30 Day Challenge Day 13 : Your opinion about your body and how comfortable you are with it.

Hi guys!
How are you?

Today’s challenge topic is a pretty sensitive topic for me. I have to admit, like many other girls/women, I’ve had some issues with my body image. Which is actually a really common problem. In a society that promotes unrealistic body ideals, it can be quite challenging to not get caught up in comparing oneself to these unrealistic standards. All those commercials and advertisements we see around us often depict very young and impossibly beautiful women. And the truth is that people can actually suffer a great deal of psychological blows from those subtle and pervasive effects of advertising aimed at them. As a result, they may experience depression, anxiety, anger and even self-loathing. Which is not good at all. It can get to a point where you become self-destroying without even realizing it. To overcome this issue is definitely not as easy as flipping a coin, and it needs process. This is becoming kind of repetitive, but really, it does start with loving yourself. How do you think other people are going to love you, when you don’t love yourself?

Imagine being so comfortable in your own skin, knowing exactly who you are and being eager to proudly share your authentic and exquisite self with everyone around you. Imagine being everlastingly sustained by an inner source of joy—not the “all smiles” sort of happiness we sometimes relate with the word “joy,” but the rich, meaningful kind of joy that comes with self-knowledge and self-appreciation. And that is how everyone should feel about themselves.
But let’s get to the point of this post. I’d be lying if I said that I’ve fully overcome this issue with my body image, cause I haven’t. However, the truth is, I’ve been feeling a lot better than I used to. Even though I’m still quite far from physically being at my best shape, I’m happy to say that I’ve found some peace of mind and that I’m learning to accept myself as I am.

I was really inspired by this commercial I watched on YouTube, I actually teared up a bit watching it. The prevailing message of this ad: you are more beautiful than you think and other people think so, too.
So, love yourself!

Cheers,

Leave a Reply

