30 Day Challenge

30 Day Challenge – Day 3 : A Book You Love

Looking for Alaska
Looking for Alaska is one of my favorite books ever. This was the first book I ever read by John Green. For the longest time, I thought that Looking for Alaska, John Green’s Printz award-winning first novel, was about teenage boys taking a road trip to Alaska. Way for me to assume too much from a title, huh?
But anyway, when I read this book I laughed, I cried, and I loved along with all the characters. I loved the story line, the characters and the fact that it made me think. I love everything about this book.
I guess I’ll start with the storyline. There are countless numbers of books about kids that go to a new school and want fun adventures. They want exciting stories to tell. But the way John Green wrote this book made it so much more than what it is. His book tells a story about a boy named Miles who moved from a town where he had no friends to a boarding school. The reason; well according to Miles it is because of François Rabelais’ famous last words “I go to seek a Great Perhaps”. At this new school Miles experiences a lot of firsts, first friends, first cigarette, first kiss, first love and first heartbreak. And that boarding school is the place where he met Alaska Young. This kickass person who loves books, pranking people, and crazy adventures. The girl that everyone secretly wants to be. Just like everybody else, Miles was immediately infatuated with her. The more he got to know her, he starts to fall in love with her. She caused Miles to feel and experience things beyond his expectations. You might think that this novel has a typical and predictable storyline, but trust me it isn’t.
The novel was witty, and deep, it was poignant and refreshing and it was so bitter-sweet. The characters were well developed and so was the plot. It was so deep and you couldn’t help but have not just your mind involved into the novel but your soul. I was emotionally invested into the story. John Green did THAT great of a job in developing the characters. I’ve read every John Green book ever since. Looking forward to reading more books like Looking for Alaska.

 

Cheers,

6 thoughts on “30 Day Challenge – Day 3 : A Book You Love

Leave a Reply

